Some people believe that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is somehow believed, that the extinction of some animals and plants might cause a global environmental issue. However, there could be more problems to make a tremendous harm to our mother nature, just like air pollution. In my opinion, we cannot focus on the particular species only as the "green" issues have always been complex. Having said that, I will prove this statement in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, the existence of our environment has been vulnerable from the very beginning. For starters, the planet may experience the greenhouse effect, when the ozone layers of the atmosphere are becoming unstable; at that time, a high amount of waste "creates" the holes in the air. Moreover, an unstoppable circulation of litter on Earth can lead to global warming as well. Plus, we also should keep in mind everything related to the mass pollution of water. For example, in the last 20 years, according to the worldwide data bank, a bulk of rivers in Asia and Africa has been shrinking inch by inch. The overall result was estimated by a huge decline up to 40%. On the other hand, the loss of specific animals and plants can trigger a gigantic problem as well. For instance, the major function of the latter is to produce oxygen and imbibe carbon dioxide. If someone starts cutting down the trees, he will put the whole nation in danger, and it will be going through horrible health-related ramifications. Furthermore, all animals are part of a food chain, that grows in ascending order. In this case, no human being is allowed to be involved in such a natural process. In a nutshell, I would like to ensure, that both views seem very reasonable; although, they should not be separated from each other in the sense of their high importance. Since the environmental problems are compounded, we need to give credit to each factor that rings the alarm.