Some people say that the Internet is responsible for destroying social skills of teenagers and young adults. Why do you think the Internet is seen as dangerous in this way and what can we do to ensure that it does not harm the social development of teenagers and young adults?

In the recent times, the deteriorating state of social skills of teenagers and young adults has been attributed to the undue use of the internet. While the use of the internet in itself is not harmful to the development of youths’ sociability, it is important this is put under control for better usage. This essay discusses the dangers of the internet on younger persons’ social development and possible solutions to curb it. To start with, the internet has brought tremendous benefits to humankind, particularly in the area of learning. Sadly, this has not come without any disadvantage as it has made youths spend excessive time on the computers and other the internet -enhanced devices. It is quite unfortunate to know that teenagers now devote hours playing video games on the internet at the expense of developing their social skills. Some even visit unnecessary websites, thereby getting entangled with immoral behaviour. No doubt, if this is not checkmated it might leave the young adults without any moral and social backbone. Interestingly, the above risk can be controlled both at families and societal level through compulsory social works and the internet free days. For instance, the government can declare a mandatory course on social works for all teenagers with the sole aim that they have sessions to improve their social abilities. In addition, family can also introduce the internet -free days or periods for their children. This will ensure that they have to time to participate in other social works, thereby making them better citizens in the society. In conclusion, while the internet remains a priceless development and gift to humanity especially to the youths, deliberate measures must be put in place so that its associated risks do not have an irreparable damage on the youths’ social skills.