As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

People are increasingly moving towards owning a personal vehicle. Developing nations have a huge proposition of people purchasing personal cars for their own use. While some people see it as a sign of development, others are of the opinion that right mix of public and private transport is good for the environment. In general, an increase in car ownership raises pollution levels and is harmful to the environment. Local habitat is damaged due to the increase in pollution levels. To begin with, people in developing countries are having higher disposable income and the citizens tend to purchase a car for their daily commute. Each new car on the road increases the pollution levels and damages the environment. Furthermore, the destruction of the local surroundings creates serious medical conditions in the local population. It is estimated that every 100 new vehicles on the road raise the carbon emissions by about 5% and particularly causes illness in the local population. In summary, any surge in the usage of personal cars is damaging the surroundings. Although there are certainly many downsides associated with the rise in the usage of personal cars, it has become a necessity for people in some developing countries. Car manufacturing companies have seen a significant rise in profits due to the surge in the use of personal vehicles. These companies contribute to higher tax revenues for the government and promote economic activity. However, this is not a sustainable trend because it causes destruction of the local habitat, which in turn create serious medical conditions in the local people and potentially escalate the health care costs. In conclusion, the environmental impact due to the upsurge in the adoption of cars is significant since it increases carbon emissions which cause serious health conditions in humans. On the whole, it is highly advantageous to have low usage of private cars in spite of the benefits of using an own ride.