Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, with the help of technology, people can have friends from all over the world through many portable devices, such as smartphones and tablets. However, it is said that those online friendships are less valuable than friends that we meet in real life. From my perspective, I am a strong advocate of this idea, and some justifications for my standpoint will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, there is a higher chance of losing property to people who have many friends on the Internet. In fact, most people lack information about their online friends, making it difficult to know whether these friends have good or bad intentions. Therefore, many people, especially children or elders, can easily be deceived into losing money or precious items. For instance, according to a survey conducted in Vietnam in 2022, 200 people, most of them younger than 15 years old or over 70 years old, had been reported as the victims of online fraud. Moreover, real life friends are easier to trust than online friends. People tend to believe more in what they can observe in real life, and people ’s behavior and reactions in face to face conversations reveal their genuine thoughts. In addition, when individuals deeply understand their friends ’s characteristics and personalities, they can enjoy more supportive relationships that bolster mental health. Not only that, but this relationship will also create lasting memories in your life, which are hardly found in online relationships. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that real life relationships are much better than online relationships, and I believe that people should be aware of making friends with strangers on the Internet.