The care of old people is a growing problem. Some say the government should care for old people. Others say that it is the family’s responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The average life span has increased a lot in these last few decades and the welfare of old people is a topic that is often discussed. Some people argue that should be the government to take care of their needs while others believe that is a primary responsibility of the family. In this essay I will explain the reasons why is important that either the family and the institutions should take care of elders. To begin with, guarantee a decent level of life for the old people is a duty that the government should pursue and finance. Old people worked a lot during their life and payed taxes with their job to guarantee an efficient level of public services for everyone. At the moment of retirement, the government should provide them a financial help to carry on their life as it was before. In addition, money should be placed in services for elders such as aged care facilities that can help the individual and his family in a moment of illness. Let's take for example my home country. Italy has a lot of old people and their needs are a priority for the government. A lot of politicians invest their political career to fight for the elderly rights and to give them a good level of life and resources. In the complex journey of ageing, the family plays a vital role. As the parents look after their child when they were little, in the same way sons and daughters should care about their parents when they are old. Being looked after from a family member in the family house instead of a stranger in a nursing home is without any doubt much better for the individual itself. As old people tend to be disorientated if placed in a different environment with a person that they don't know, supporting the family in the care of their older loved ones is a priority. Furthermore, keeping people out of aged care facilities would save money to the government. For instance, my grandmother was recently hospitalized and when she was discharged my parents took care of her in our house instead of sending her in a facility for her rehabilitation. Being in a familiar environment meant a lot for her and she recovered very quickly. To sum up, it is a government responsibility to look after the ageing people of the society, but at the same time the family is an irreplaceable resource. I personally believe that a synergy between the family and public services is the perfect way to look after a person. On one side the family needs money and tools to do that, on the other the government has to provide them with the services that they need.