"Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that spending money in preventing diseases would be better than curing them as they are costly, given that prevention is better than cure. This essay disagrees with that statement because it would be challenging to predict diseases, and it also wastes the researcher's time. A good reason not to invest money in preventive steps is that it is difficult to predict diseases. In other words, there are millions of bacteria and viruses which can cause several illnesses to humans, so it becomes hard to foresee illnesses caused by them. The result of this is a huge amount of the government's money will be wasted in these activities. For instance, a meticulous research study carried out by the postgraduate students of Chicago State University found that each virus can cause several hundreds of diseases in humans. Another point to consider is that it wastes the researcher's time. If researchers spend their time on identifying and preventing various diseases, they are not able to address the current problems in the field of medicine. The outcome of this is a precious time of researchers will be wasted. This was illustrated by a recent article published in TimesNow newspaper that, more than 70% of the researcher's time in the USA is spent on discovering and preventing various disease-causing viruses, but it improved only 5% of its citizen's health. In conclusion, money should not be wasted on preventive steps to kill viruses and bacteria because it would be difficult to predict new diseases, and it also wastes a considerable amount of the researcher's time.