As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Due to rise in production of vehicles and growth in population, humans are opting for their own mode of transport. However, this may lead to the emission of smoke which will eventually cause air pollution. In this essay I will further illustrate the negative and positive impact of owning a vehicle and how the bad effects overweights the good. On the one hand, usage of own transport is expanding to meet the needs of folks who work away from home as well for individuals who do not have enough time to walk or spend extra income on the public transportation system. Furthermore, the development of a state plays a major role. For instance, people with low salaries have to opt for own transport rather than the metro and taxis which will eventually lead to carbon emission. However, this issue can be tackled if the tariff cards are reduced for the public transport and people should be encouraged to walk if their office is located in the next lane. On the other hand, it would be detrimental, as people avoid walking, which will eventually lead to negative impact on their health. As the developing nations should decline the usage of own transport and force people to use walk and use the public transit, such measures will not only help people but also the community by reducing the amount of smoke emission. To conclude, in my opinion the laws and strict measures should be implemented by the statutory body in order to reduce the air pollution, which is one of the biggest factors for environmental change. Hence, the discharge of harmful smoke can never have any advantages to the community or environment.