There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

It is true that a variety of musical styles can be heard around the world. However, some argue whether traditional music is of greater importance over modern widely spread tunes, or why music is needed in the first place. I tend to believe that music is a vital part of everyday life of human beings, but I would point out that the popularity of International music should not grow further at the cost of losing traditional sounds. There is ample evidence to support the point that music is a necessity. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, it is important as it provides enjoyment and pleasure in daily life. People listen to melody to express and arouse emotions in a way that words alone cannot. Secondly, music is also an expression of cultures. For example, music has been an essential part of Serbian religious ceremonies such as weddings and funerals or yearly festivals for centuries. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that it would be difficult to imagine life without it. Although there is a case of internationally broadcasted music being useful in helping people understand and relate to each other, or even to get inspired, the value of folk music cannot be overstated. This is largely because the traditional music bears the old history, lifestyle and customs of a country. For instance, if dancing and singing to the sound of traditional instruments had not been embedded deeply into the culture of Serbian people, the old traditions of Serbia would have been long gone. Thus, everyone can listen to the music that attracts them no matter of its genre or origin, but no one should ignore their own traditional music. In conclusion, music is a necessary part of human existence. I believe that traditional melodies are vital for cultural preservation and as such more important than International tunes regardless of enjoyment provided by only presently popular music genres.