In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

There is a strange phenomenon that the rates of severe offences are declining in some nations, while citizens feel more unsafe than ever before. I believe there are several reasons that may cause this to happen, and both the government and individuals can take some measures to mitigate this problem. The rise in feelings of unsafety might have been amplified by modern media. In the past, the only methods that people will get information through is the newspaper or their communication, which can be controlled easily by the authorities and lack of immediate effects. However, modern technology has empowered us with more tools to record and convey information, and by seeing the videos of serious crimes, people will gain more feelings than reading them from the newspaper. In addition, some media will stretch the truth to attract public's attention, leading to a further increase in people's fear to crimes. There can be some methods to cope with this issue. On the one hand, governments should take more responsibilities to further decrease the rates of serious crimes, and regulate those media companies by adding a pre-check system verifying their authenticity before the news is published. On the other hand, individuals have to understand what is the truth under the news and do not spread the news when it seems to be fake. For example, When browsing Facebook, if you see false information, you can choose to report it. In conclusion, the way how information conveys has increased people's feeling of insecurity even though their rates of grave crimes are decreasing in some countries. And both governments and individuals should shoulder their responsibilities to let the truth spread instead of the false appearance.