The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is an undeniable fact that English is spreading as an international language. Some people believe that the merits outweigh the demerits while others argue that it has considerable drawbacks. I completely agree with the former argument, and in this essay, I will support my view with examples. The most significant advantage is the global travel and tourism, since the communication medium is going to be common, people can enjoy travel, study, and work in foreign countries with as little struggle as possible. For example, A person from the southern tip of India can comfortably travel across the globe to Canada and still be able to continue his/her higher education with fewer impediments. Secondly, businesses can flourish and trade globally. They can design products and instructions in a single language and still can attract millions of people across the world. This can help businesses avoid additional costs like translation costs, costs incurred due to printed in a different language, etc. For instance, ‘WhatsApp’ mobile application is designed in English and millions of people across the world uses it. Thirdly, countries can set up standardizations using English which can be recognized globally. More precisely, official documents in a global language can help people recognize it easily. For example, documents like passports, driving licenses in English can be easily recognized in any English-speaking country helping the traveller to navigate seamlessly. In conclusion, because of the advantages like improving international excursion, global trade and ease of recognition of official documents, I wholeheartedly believe that the merits of English as an international vocabulary offset the demerits.