Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometime starting until the age of five or six, right up until the age of eighteen. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making childern do exams?

The school curriculum requires students to take up various examinations beginning from 1st standard till the 12th standard. There are frequent debates upon if the exams are the right way of making them learn or if it harms the upbringing of a child. In this essay I will elucidate both the demerits and merits of making children take exams. Firstly, taking exams helps students understand their strengths and weaknesses. It also instills competitiveness in them.They are able to analyse themselves and focus on areas they are weak and at the same time assessment is a test of knowledge, it motivates students to learn better and strive for the highest marks. For Instance, a child who scores high marks will always have a high self-esteem and will be confident in taking up further challenges in life. However, on the other hand, conducting regular exams can also be very de-motivating to children who may have difficulty coping up with the syllabus.In an educational Institution there are students from different backgrounds and not all of them will have same Intelligence or learning capability this may result in poor academic performance If these children are not monitored separately and given the required help, it might result in their poor academic performance. Institutions must not only focus on giving examinations. For example, there are many students who might not be academically bright but they may excel in other areas such as art or music.There are many renowned artists across the world who have not even completed schooling. In conclusion, although exams are imperative, it should not be the only reason in deciding a child's future. Every school must also promote other areas such as art, music, sports etc. Which will be beneficial for children.