Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people believe that the prevalent advertisement techniques used by different companies are not in line with the society's ethical and moral values. Although there are strong arguments on both sides, I strongly agree with the observation that some of today's media campaigns to accelerate brand sales are unethical. First of all, most of the time, the information provided during product promotion is simply not accurate. The only objective of media companies is to boost the sales of their clients. Therefore, they mould the facts in such a way that the merchandise instantly appeals to the target population, even if the content is inaccurate. For example, some cooking oil companies in their TV commercials, display an actor pouring little oil on her finger, thus proving that their cooking oil remains in liquid form at a normal human temperature, and tricking customers into thinking that cooking oil will protect them from having a heart attack. Such manipulation of the power of commercials can't be acceptable in any society. Also, many advertisements are morally distasteful. One of the objectives of an effective commercial is to draw the attention of the masses towards the commodity. Many companies use obscene images to attain this objective, which is a problem, particularly for a conservative community. For instance, an advertisement for a new luxury car will focus more on a young female model, with limited dress code, and attractive looks than the actual merchandise. The overall objective, of course, is to trick people into paying more attention, while paying no heed to moral sensitivities of the society. In conclusion, it is abundantly clear than nowadays, some media campaigns resort to providing false information and use unfair means to draw customer attention, which is simply not acceptable. It is recommended that the government should play a central role in regulating this industry.