The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs enormous government expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that in many countries a huge amount is spent on the renovation of old buildings, which is a sheer wastage, rather the same has to be used for the building of new living places and restoration of highways. I fully agree with this, as the infrastructure has to be renovated regularly. On the one hand, states tend to do a lot of expenditure on the outdated structures. This is being done to keep the history alive. Secondly, many cities try to earn money from these historical places by promoting tourism. Moreover, the locals don't leave these places, due to strong bondage with the past of their families. For instance, many European countries spend millions of Euro on the uplift of their old downtown to keep them safe for the inhabitants. Thus, the rulers are compelled to spend on the vintage buildings, thereby wasting a lot of budget. On the other hand, new housing societies and road structures have to be constructed rather than re-fixing the old ones, and I also back this view. This will lead to a new look at the city. Furthermore, the newly built structures will be reliable and safe for the population. The civic facilities will be up to date in the freshly erected structures. For example, the same practice is being done in the Chaina. So, instead of focusing on the outdated ones, the policy makers have to develop modern apartments. To conclude, the construction pattern has to be changed with the revolution in the science and technology, and there should be a ban on the expenditure on the older places.