Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment ? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem ?

Despite the continuous awareness made to the public about the harm caused by the use of plastic products for the environment, there have been no indication about a decline of using these items. This essay will elaborate about the damage done for the environment, followed by the solutions that could be initiated by the government and individuals to solve this problem. To begin with the damage caused, disposing plastic in the environment without following a proper mechanism would lead to an increase in number of consequences. Firstly, there would be a surge in the death toll of animals, because of the consumption of non digestible items with their food. Hence, leading to an extinction of certain species. Secondly, the production of plastic items, would contribute towards a rise in the carbon dioxide emission levels, as a result of the gases that are emitted while producing plastic. This would damage the ozone layer. Thus, harmful sun rays would enter the atmosphere and cause a threat for the environmental ecosystem which would contribute negatively towards the production of oxygen levels. For Example:- Statistics have shown that during the last decade there is a continuous increase in the level of carbon dioxide emissions globally which has resulted in an increase in global warming and extinction of certain rare species. Probing ahead with the solutions, first of the all the government should ensure that appropriate laws are passed in the parliament, and they are effective. This would regulate the production of plastic products, and the process for disposing it. Furthermore, penalties should be imposed on individuals or companies that violate these laws. On the other hand, individuals should create awareness and organize nature cleaning projects with their peers. This would help to carry a strong message in the society. For Instance:- The Sri Lankan government has banned the use of plastic products, this has contributed massively towards the environmental sustainability with alternatives researched at for getting the task done. In conclusion, it is important to remember that protection of the nature from plastic pollution is a responsibility of all the stakeholders, and appropriate action should be initiated at all levels in the society. Otherwise, as human beings, we will have to face long term consequences.