Some people find it difficult to present a speech/presentation in the public. Therefore, it is suggested that public speaking should be taught in schools. Do you think it is important to know how to speak well? Do you agree or disagree with this view?

In the recent times, it has been discovered that people have some difficulties when giving a talk/presentation to the general public. As a result, there is a suggestion that public speaking skills be taught in citadel of learning. I opine that it is necessary for people to be able to speak fluently, and I also agree with the notion that it should be taught in schools. To start with, knowing how to speak freely, has numerous advantages. One importance of being able to speak fluently is that it helps to build confidence. When confidence is in what one does, the individual will be able to withstand any form of challenges faced with in life. This also brings fulfilment in one's endeavours and achievements are sometimes enormous. For instance, my brother, who speaks fluently, was able to pull through oppositions in his workplace, and he is now standing tall in the company. He was also promoted because the management saw this virtue in him, and they were convinced about his ability to move higher. I totally agree that this skill be taught in schools because whatever is learnt in schools stays longer with us. This could be due to the fact that the techniques used to imbibe things in schools are fundamental and intensive at the same time, hence, then lessons are well understood. To illustrate, things like etiquette that I learned in the primary school has not departed from me. As a matter of fact, people testify to the high level of decency I display today. Therefore, if public speaking is taught in schools, people will do well while addressing the public in future. To conclude, ability to speak fluently is an indispensable virtue that births confidence and I agree that it should be taught in schools because that is where knowledge is well impacted.