Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that "pen and paper" tests are not considered the best form of examination to measure the academic performance of students. From my point of view, formal tests are needed since they demonstrate how hardworking a student is. school. Besides, there is no other effective way to assess a student's educational progress. To begin with, paper-based tests can give us a clue about how hard-working a student is. This is because these examinations are generally standardized, which means all students take the same tests under equal conditions. As a result, teachers can easily identify those exceptional students and assist them in improving their academic performance. In fact, there is a chance for all pupils to prove that they are worth it. For instance, there are various scholarships from many top-ranked universities. Thus, it is believed that "pen and paper" tests are the best way to assess educational achievement. Secondly, there is no other method to evaluate a student’s performance at school. Some countries, for example, have applied a new education system recently. According to this system, pupils’ educational progress is assessed through an interview that takes place during a certain period of the year. However, some studies have shown that a lot of students attempted to cheat, and some examiners didn’t catch those pupils. Moreover, some students may bribe the examiner in order to get an excellent score. Hence, it is clear that formal examinations will never be replaced by any other type of evaluation. In conclusion, it is concluded that formal examinations are the most efficient method to assess a student’s educational progress.