The breakthroughs in medical science are by far the most significant advances in world society over the last two centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the advancements in medical science are among the most important improvements for societies worldwide in the last two hundred years. I completely agree with this because diseases that were once considered incurable are now easily treated by modern medicine, as well as new techniques for organ transplants and anaesthesia. I believe technological developments in the medical field are significant for humanity because many years ago deadly diseases were rampant and difficult to cure. In other words, cutting edge drugs and treatment are now at a stage where most life threatening illnesses can be treated with penicillin or simple medical procedures. For instance, tuberculosis was at epidemic proportions in the 1890s and killed many people in the USA. At the time there was no treatment, but now this can be cured with antibiotics within a few weeks. Moreover, medical techniques in recent decades can quickly diagnose and treat illnesses before they become too serious. Another reason for my view is that painless surgical operations were unheard of in the 19th century. This is because medical technology had not advanced to the stage where this could be done painlessly. For example, in Victorian England operations were carried out without anaesthetics. Patients would only be given alcohol to dull the pain, which was ineffective and made the procedure absolutely excruciating. Moreover, the concept of exchanging internal body parts was unimaginable. The methods for liver or heart transplants were only invented in the 1970s. Prior to that, people with conditions such as heart disease would face death. In conclusion, I firmly believe that since the 1800s huge improvements in medicine have proven to be of great benefit. Conditions that were once impossible to treat are now curable, and the transplantation of internal organs is now a common medical procedure.