Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people consider tougher punishments to be the best strategy to control the crime rate. However, others believe there are more effective alternative options that can be exercised. This essay will discuss both points of view, and I shall argue that awarding a long prison sentence is the best way to control the felony. On the one hand, supporters of alternative options argue that criminal offences can be minimised by the adoption of the social democratic system. They consider widening wealth inequality the major reason for the rise in the felony rate. If everyone is socially protected, and financially secure, there will be no justification for the crimes to exist. For example, the Scandinavian countries which consistently rank high in the World happiness index have a particularly low crime rate. This proves that if the population at large is satisfied the offence rate will drop. Not only this, improving education can also be useful. As society becomes better educated, it becomes more productive, and consequently creates fewer criminals. It is well established that areas with low literacy rates are generally more dangerous to live. On the other hand, I shall argue that adopting tougher measures such as longer prison sentence is the best way to control the crime rate. First, strict punishments create deterrence. It is in the nature of humans to respond to reward and punishment. If there are dire consequences of committing a crime, the offenders will think twice before indulging in such activities. For instance, there are strict punishments in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia for criminal offences. As a result, the crime rate is negligible. Second, prolonged imprisonment means the criminals are gradually purged from society. If the culprits are put behind bars for a longer period of time, the community will become safer. Thus, longer imprisonment leads to less lawlessness. In conclusion, it is abundantly clear that longer sentences create deterrence for the criminals and removes them from the general population, which leads to low felony rate and safer neighbourhoods.