Topic: Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is reducing the amount of maximum speed of vehicles. Others think that other ways exist. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has been argued by many that the best way to avoid accidents is to reduce the maximum speed limit of the cars, whereas others are of the opinion that the awareness campaigns and implementation of safety precautions can do the same. I think that both views are correct, as avoidance of accidents is very important to save precious lives. On the one hand, over speeding is one of the leading causes of road traffic accidents. Although speed thrills, but it kills, so it has to be kept under check. Secondly, the speedy vehicles can get out of control, thereby leading to a disaster. Moreover, if any untoward event, such as a tyre burst, occurs with a fast car it can lead to a fatal incident. For instance, according to an American research of 2019, about 75% of the highway collisions are due to over speeding. Therefore, I support the idea of reducing the maximum speed in order to make the travelling safe. On the other hand, strict adherence to the rules and improvement in the educational status of the individuals can also help to counter the issue. It's the duty of the police to impose heavy fines on the defaulters. Similarly, the issuance of a driving permit must be through a strict system. Furthermore, regular lectures and seminars have to be arranged for the general public to create a sense of responsibility in them. For example, the UK government takes the license back from an individual who gets three tickets in one year. So, I believe that a collective effort of national highway authority, motorway police, and the nation can help in decreasing the happenings. To conclude, there are a number of factors responsible for accidental deaths on the motorways, so they have to be addressed and rectified.