IN the past when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad What are the advantages and this disadvantages of this development?

Students at the present time decide to study abroad much more often than in the past when it was more common to go to college in your home country. In this essay, I will explain some of the benefits and drawbacks regarding this new trend. On the one hand, going to foreign universities increases the social skills of students exponentially. As an example, Medicine students from Argentina can go to Catania, Italy for special training in paediatrics on their own. In this manner, they will have to learn how to solve daily issues such as rent an apartment, shop and even commute to work. This improves, not only socialization abilities, but also language, enhancing, speaking, writing, listening and reading skills enormously. Lastly, one more positive point to underline is the cultural interchange regarding food, religion, art, music and architecture. This broadens students’ minds and cultural background. On the other hand, there are some negative points to bare in mind. The first one is the currency exchange, which usually makes everything significantly expensive, namely, universities' fees, housing, food, travelling and clothes. Another drawback is the distance to the family, which can become a problem when having a disease or other problem and everyone you know is far away. Sometimes the need is the other way round, there could be a difficult issue at home and you may feel sad about not being able to help in some way. In conclusion, nowadays there are more opportunities to study abroad, which is an important tool to improve social skills and language. Nevertheless, the economical aspect of moving to another country and the distance to the family are points to keep in mind while making the decision.