Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.” Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

Some argue that, in general, a large portion of the population using the internet will be beneficial for our lives in the modern world. While some may argue against using it commonly, the benefits overwhelmingly outweigh the detriments because using the internet allows people to communicate faster and more effectively while also having easy access to a treasure trove of knowledge readily-available under their fingers. Firstly, it cannot be denied that the internet facilitates easier communication for individuals and groups; even if they are located considerable distances from one another. This is because, by using online tools like messaging apps and forums, people can send and receive messages almost instantaneously. Moreover, these not only provide easier correspondence, but also provide greater reliance due to having very healthy uptimes. Whatsapp, for instance, is a great example of this. Not only is it faster than messaging, but also provides more reliance as it can be used via a computer, and even on other people's devices compared to just one mobile phone. Furthermore, the internet provides effective storage of resources like books and audio. Online forums and common storage websites, like Reddit, allow users to seamlessly upload documents for others' use, and access material that others have provided without hassle and at no cost. For example, even everyday apps that we take for granted, like YouTube, contain more media and resources than any library in the world. Thus, it would be an understatement to say that the internet contains an incredible amount of knowledge, all of which is readily and freely accessible. To sum up, some support the notion that the widespread use of the internet will have positive effects on our lives. While it may, undoubtedly, have some detriments, because it allows for accessible common storage and easier communication, it must be said that, overall, its benefits hugely outweigh the cost.