Many people now have the freedom to work and live anywhere because of advances in communication technology and transportation. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a tremendous growth in modes of communication and transport facilities in recent times. Resultantly, more and more people find it easier to work and live anywhere. Having a long distance between accommodation and workplace can have problems, but the advantages of this trend far exceed the potential drawbacks. One problem of being employed at a significant distance from the home is that people can have unreliable attendance, where they either show up late for work or not at all. This happens because of various problems that can be encountered on the way to the job. Such as traffic jams, accidents, strikes, etc. The overall effect is that the workers loose reliability and thus diminished chances of further progress in their careers. These problems stem from working and living in distant locations from one another. However, there are many advantages to consider. First, the current growth in information technology has enabled many to work from home. The ubiquitous availability of high-speed Internet has precluded the requirement to be physically present at a particular location. People can attend meetings, solve technical issues, and talk to clients through video conferencing right from the comfort of their homes. For example, a software developer in Pakistan can contact customers in the US, understand the requirements of the clients, and deliver the product without physically meeting anyone. Second, the modernisation of communication and transport has opened up new job opportunities. Traditionally, one of the major factors in choosing a job used to be its location. People would avoid employment too far away from their homes, but nowadays, excellent road infrastructure and the mass transport system have made it possible to work anywhere without worrying about the commute time and cost. In conclusion, it is abundantly clear that freedom to work even from home and find employment anywhere are notable advantages which far outweigh any drawback that can result from people living and working anywhere. It is the state's responsibility to further improve the transport and communication services.