Some people say that art subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is ongoing debate regarding whether high school students should be compelled to learn art subjects. This essay will explore both perspectives that present the points of agreement and disagreement, and arrive at my own conclusion. On one hand, it is widely agreed that students should prioritize traditional subjects like mathematics and science. Compared with art subjects, cultivating youngsters' professional skills by learning academic matters is the most robust approach to cope with their future careers. For example, doctors need a solid background in biology and computer engineers must master mathematics and logical arithmetic. As a consequence, youths at school should spend more time on regular academic performance instead of art subjects. On the other hand, there is also a need to open courses such as drawing and painting. In this fast-paced society, people opt to pay attention to the next generation's careers and abilities but they forget spiritual demands are also essential. Art subjects offered at school are not only credits to graduate but also the pivot to developing their eminent personalities. One of the most significant influences is that artworks usually take a considerable time to complete. In this way, arranging a specific period of time can help students foster habits that concentrate on finishing pieces. In conclusion, it is evident that forcing students to study art courses at school can have a positive effect but it is also unnecessary to spend time on those subjects. From my perspective, the education system is essentially to strike a delicate balance between the obligation of studying art.