Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

We use a language to communicate with others and express ourselves no matter what language we use and thus after migrating to a foreign country people often find the language barrier a challenge. However, with the help of technology and little effort from migrants and locals, the language barrier is no longer a serious problem in this modern era. To begin with, the practice of shifting to a different country for the job, education, business or living is a century-old trend and common among all classes of people throughout the world. Thus the citizens of the host country are already aware that many migrants would be unable to communicate effectively and they cordially welcome the language and cultural differences. As a prevalent example, my uncle lived in Thailand for more than 20 years and had a poor command over the local language. He once mentioned that not knowing the language had not created any social or cultural problem to him and most locals were very positive about foreigners’ efforts to speak “Thai” and in dealing with non-native speakers’ efforts. Thus the small effort by the locals and the migrants have created a much positive environment in many countries. Moreover, technology has alleviated the practical problems of the language barrier to a great extent. People use “Goole Maps”, for example, to find a location rather than asking locals about the direction and the “Translator” applications can very effectively translate between languages. Doing grocery or ordering food from a menu written in a foreign language is no longer an issue and thanks to technological advancement. I believe that not knowing the local language has some practical challenges, but none of them is so serious. In conclusion, I approve the notion that living in another country and not knowing the local language is sometimes troublesome, but they are often scanty and can be taken care of by the efforts of the locals and migrants and the use of technology.