As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Nowadays, buying a car is very easy because of the overall economic growth in many countries. While the cars have made our lives more comfortable, there are many more problems caused by them. In this essay, I shall argue that the drawbacks of this development far outweigh the potential advantages. Admittedly, there are some advantages of buying a car. One argument put forward by the supporters is that these vehicles have made our lives comfortable. In the past, at places with poorly developed mass transportation systems, people had to walk long distances to reach a bus stop, wait in a noisy and dirty area, and travel in a wrecked bus to their workplaces. In contrast, now with cars they don't have to endure this daily torture and travel in comfort. For example, if I have a car, I will not have to spoil my dress and shoes on a rainy day, and reach office more respectably in my own car. However, there are many negative effects of having a lot of cars in the country. Firstly, motor vehicles increases the air pollution. As gasoline burns in a car's engine, it releases huge quantities of carbon dioxide, which contributes to the air pollution. The negative effects of this development on human health and the environment are well established. For instance, the phenomenon of global warming. Second, there is also problem of traffic congestion. To increase in motor vehicles, the resultant congestion on the roads leads to frustration for the commuters. As a result, rather than feeling relaxed, the travellers experience increased anxiety. Take the morning rush hours, for example, the roads at these times are full of traffic. These facts highlight the problems caused by owning personal vehicles. In conclusion, it is evident that having more cars in the locality leads to negative effects on the environment and causes multiple traffic problems. It is therefore recommended that the government should limit the maximum number of cars that a family can own.