Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In these modern times, internet technology has completely revolutionised the world. Almost all kinds of information is available online. As a result, some people argue that a noteworthy percentage of the population is rapidly moving towards the web technology to read and gather the news. While, others hold the notion that even after this change, newspapers will still remain the pivotal source of news for the majority of the society. I disagree with this statement to some extent. This essay will examine both the views in the trailed paragraphs. To commence with, it is true that newspapers hold their essence, even in today's changing world, particularly in the developing countries. For instance, countries such as India, there are a majority of the individuals who don't have access to the internet, sought after the newspapers for information. In addition, newspapers have been providing us news and updates daily since the old times. These have become an integral part of the daily routine of the mankind. Furthermore, people have become really accustomed to reading it every morning. One can easily grab a copy in the desired language at a cheap price and it is available in every nook and corner of the street. Thus, newspapers have become a truly indispensable source of knowledge for the public. On the other hand, technological advancements in the web technology has proved to be a game changer for the society. Individuals find more convenience in getting any sort of information or updates from various online news channels available, for example, BBC, CNN, CNBC. Also, they can watch videos related to the latest news, which makes it more intriguing for the audience. Moreover, people can share any of the important updates with their friends and relatives at just the click of a button. The internet is accessible to the masses at a quite reasonable price too. In conclusion, however, newspapers do still hold their importance in modern times due to their easy availability, cheap prices and values being attached to them, but moving forward, in this digital age, the majority of the population will gradually start switching towards the online news due to its convenience and enormous advantages.