Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

It is true that technologies have had significant impacts on almost all aspects of our society and the way how people interact with others is not an exception to this. The rapidly developing technologies have affected relationships in various ways, and in my perspective, there are both advantages and disadvantages of it. Technology has had an impact on relationships in business, education and social life. Firstly, telephones and Internet allow business people in different countries to interact without ever meeting the others face-to-face. Secondly, lecturers can teach their students through distance educational softwares, such as Skype. For example, during the global pandemic of COVID-19, a great number of schools have decided to provide their students online courses instead of teaching in real classes, which has been proven feasible and efficient. Finally, with the assistance of social media apps and websites, people can get to know more people even though they are initially strangers to us or in different counties. On the one hand, these developments can be extremely positive. Cooperation between individuals are becoming more and more effective, which used to be unattainable due to the limitation of written letters or telegrams. Nowadays, interactions by email, phone or video are almost as good as face-to-face meetings. Moreover, with many promising technologies such as fifth generation technology standard for telecommunications and virtual reality, more people will benefit from this genre of interaction. On the other hand, the availability of new communication technologies can also have the result of isolating people and discouraging real interaction. For instance, many young people prefer to make friends online rather than to mix with their peers in the real world, which is not an approving substitute for real friendships. In conclusion, technology has certainly revolutionised communication between people, but not all of the outcomes of this revolution have been positive.