Writing Topic 4- Some people think that the media (newspapers) have the right to publish details of people’s private lives, while others think it should be controlled. Discuss both views.

While it is believed by many that there should be no restrictions in the type of news that are published by the media, there are others who think the private affairs of people should be kept off the news. This essay will explain both opinions. On the one hand, it is important for papers, and magazines to have catchy contents. Thus, interesting stories and controversial situations have to be included to draw traffic and boost their sales, which brings in more income. A typical example of this is a popular magazine in Asia. It gained popularity because of its news about the lives of celebrities and politicians, especially regarding their relationships, and lifestyle. Therefore, many support the idea that any form of news could be released to the public. On the other hand, baring out everything about the personal life of a person could be overly catastrophic. It is thought that people have the right to privacy, which could be breached by news outlets, if they are given the freedom to release whatever news they find. In other words, it could result in discord, and unfavourable situations among spouses, and loved ones. Another consequence is the psychological and mental stress it may cause. For example, a story was released about the sexuality of a young boy. This made him extremely embarrassed and he committed suicide shortly after. Hence, certain people expect the government to regulate the activities of news outlets. In conclusion, the release of guidelines to the media is advocated by some, whereas others consider this to be unreasonable.