In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Nowadays job market grows faster than ever before, in some European countries, to adjust to the rapidly developing market, kids from the age of 11 to 13 go to schools where they focus on acquiring practical skills that they may need in their employment when they grow up. On one hand, it makes sense that there are schools who focus more on teaching children the skill set that is required for their dream profession. One the other hand, they are unwillingly creating boundaries for themselves. For instance, statistically most children of this age usually want to become an astronaut, which implies studying arithmetics and physics, but the majority of them will change their opinion whey they group up. The student may decide to drastically change their career choice from astronaut to English teacher, the consequence of this change would be wasted time. Moreover, they would have to catch up to those who were focusing on studying the language right away. In my opinion, all schools must teach their students go the basics of any profession today. Having great written and verbal communication skills, advance knowledge of the computer is a great example of most common qualifications that employer seeks in candidate today. All of these can be taught using standard curriculum, but something like computer literacy may require a separate lesson. To sum up, by teaching you a skill set that is required by almost any employer, as after graduation, they will spend time on acquiring skills that they actually need, using the base they learned at school.