When choosing a job, salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, employers offer a larger list of benefits than ever before. However, for most people salary is the most important factor, when considering an offer. It is disagreed, that this should play the main role when making a career decision. Instead, work environment and growth opportunities must come first. Obviously, it is understandable why the job seeker tends to pay huge attention on the offered wage, all have bills to pay and new toys to buy. Subconsciously, the human mind would prefer a better paid job, over others. For instance, when receiving a contract for $80 000 and $90 000 annually, a candidate may be more interested in the one that offers higher income. Additionally, some candidates may be limited by time with their choice, thus not having the ability to study an offer. Although, more profitable job offer does look better at the first glance, it usually will have some kind of pitfall, like fixed salary for the entire term of employment or lack of paid sick leave. In other words, an employer may pay more than competitors, but that comes to price, usually it is something like lack vacation or insurance, even a promotion in some cases. Furthermore, some companies may try to compensate for the poorly organized work environment or toxic team culture with increased wages. To sum up, candidates will always look for a job that pays more. That is absolutely normal, as longs as they don't forget to study a contract and learn more about a future employer. These couple of things, will help to ensure that short-term gain, does not come at a price of long-term loss.