Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Colours are part of human life and life without colours is boring, dull and monotonous. Colours have a great influence on the mind, mood and feelings of the people. Hence, the public buildings should be decorated with the appropriate colours. The above notion is completely true and attention should be given on colours to decorate the public places and my reasons for this view are articulated in the ensuing paragraphs. To commence with, colours have an effect on the brain of people. To cite an example, the red is known for passion, love, aggression; while white is famous for cool, calm and peace. So that, most of the hospitals have used the white, off-white, aqua and light green colours to give the soothing and peaceful effect to patients. From my point of view, hospitals should focus first on facilities that they provide and then colour and interior as colours are also playing a vital role in the mind of the patients. Moreover, in the corporate offices, they use a particular theme made up with the different colours which can affect the psychology of the employees. In most of the professional offices, the combination of grey, light blue, light olive green and white have used to reduce the stress levels. For example, if an employee is frustrated being around with red colour and he can be violent, but calm if surrounded with the dull colours because natural and eye-soothing colours are better for our physical and mental health. Thus, I believe that colours are directly or indirectly related to the work performance and mental health. Furthermore, a plethora of restaurants and shopping malls have eye catching bright coloured decorations, which attracts a person to a great extend to consume food or product. For instance, they highlight the items which are on sale to increase the sells of particular products. To conclude, It is fact that, colours have their own importance in the lives of humans and it affects the mood, feelings, attention and mind of people. Thus, colour decorations should never be selected in a random manner.