Some people believe that schools should reward those students who show excellent academic performance while some believe that only the ones who show significant improvement in the grades should be rewarded. Discuss both the views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For many decades education institutions have been encouraging students by rewarding them. Although some may argue that schools should only be rewarding school children who are excelling academically, I believe they should be doing the same for pupil who are improving. This essay will discuss both views of the statement. Students who are doing well academically need rewarding as it takes a lot of hard work and sacrifices to achieve high grades. For instance, a student replaces hanging out with friends and other leisure activities to study. This group of children is self-derived and therefore, need to be rewarded for putting in extra time and replacing relaxing to work harder. On the other hand, not all students do well academically. This is either because of other interests such as sports or learn differently. Most schools teach traditionally, while new generation schools are now taking a new approach. Take the UK for example, some schools are educating weaker students with a different approach which has led to improvement in grades and consequently, giving out certificates for students who put in the effort. Though this notion is motivating students to carry on working hard as their effort is working while not everyone is invested to change the traditional way of learning. To conclude, undoubtedly high scoring students do not need any motivation as they are self motivated, while underachievers do need motivation in the form of rewards to stay on the right path to success. I do believe, schools should investigate their way of teaching and use more visual tools for helping students.