These days, food travels long distances before reaching consumers, and it is therefore believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about a number of economic and environmental benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages ?

It is becoming increasingly popular to have feed items produced in a foreign land, transported to various places for consumption. It is advocated by many, that producing edibles in our local environment are more beneficial, both economically, and environmentally. This essay will discuss the positives and negatives of having our own cuisine made near us, rather than far away. Cultivating snack within the environment in which it would be eaten, has several benefits, one of which is the reduction in environmental pollution. While the use of vehicles for distributing foreign meals, such as trains, and trucks, come with the release of unpleasant waste products of fuel combustion, edible items grown in proximity to where it would be consumed, give no such effect, as snack could even be harvested shortly before it is eaten. Thus, the surrounding is safe from being polluted by this harmful gases. Furthermore, foodstuffs requiring distribution are more expensive and in no way contributes to the local economy, considering the cost of transportation, and wages of the staff doing the movement. For instance, importing rice from another country into Nigeria would incur shipping fees, custom duties, and other fees within the community. Small towns and villages are able to save better, if they made their own consumables. Of course, manufacturing eatable items has its drawbacks. Many would be rendered unemployed if transportation was excluded from the picture. In other words, there would be no marketing staff, as well as drivers. In addition to this, locals are likely to be restricted to consuming only locally cultivated edibles. Due to certain geographical conditions, such as weather and soil, it may be impossible for some types of food to thrive in several locations. For example, apples cannot be successfully grown in some parts of Africa because of unfavourable climatic conditions. If it was a taboo to eat imported cuisine, then Africans would not be opportune to take this fruit. Therefore, unemployment, and restricted diet is believed to be some of the negatives of locally made foodstuff. To conclude, whereas indigenously cultivated meals mitigate air pollution and save money, there is a higher tendency for unemployment, and restrictions in particular diet among individuals. People should be able to feed on whatever they want, irrespective of where it is grown.