Some people say that travel helps us to appreciate other cultures. How true is this statement? Do you think that people who travel a lot appreciate other cultures more than those who stay at home?

It is opined by a number of people that visiting other countries helps us to value foreign nations. I firmly agree with them. In this essay, I plan to explore a few thoughts of mine to substantiate my opinion along with specific examples. Firstly, those who prefer to stay in their native places have a chance to see only the traditions and habits that characterize the local society. For example, an attitude towards women is one of the prominent phenomena which can differ from one part of the world to another depending on the religion there. If a woman, who may be treated unfairly in her own land, does not go abroad, she might be not even aware of civil attitudes in other places. Secondly, individuals who travel a lot can learn new abilities and bring them to their homes enlarging the local civilizations. For instance, historically, traders first saw then learned how foreigners do certain activities such as farming, fishing and many others, and brought this to their lands, and this helped to distribute these particular cultures. Without a doubt, if tradesmen had not learned to grow plants such as potatoes, humanity might not have known about their existence until now. Moreover, if tourists like a country, they would do the both advice their friends to go there and visit it again. In conclusion, although there are individuals who argue the fact that travelling helps to become familiar with other lifestyles, I still believe that the more parts of our planet we visit the more we appreciate the ways of life of native habitants.