The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, It is believed that the direct interaction is being dominated by the online means of communication due to the booming of technology. In my opinion, this trend provides some obvious positive effects also the potential negative impacts on all strata in the society that people should take into consideration. On the one hand, it is undeniable that people, youngsters in particular, would reap certain benefits from the communication methods based on the social media, such as Facebook and messenger. Thanks to advances in the technology, people could be easier to contact with their relatives and friends than in the past. Instead of spending a great amount of money getting in touch with their relationships in other countries via phone or travelling to their homeland for visiting their parents, they just need a digital device that can connect to the internet and integrated into some video chat applications to interact with their mates and relatives. Besides, the not face-to-face conversation would create users a chance that assists them to increase their income. For example, there are several online chat tools combined pops-up of advertising companies and they are paid the amount of money when they consume seconds to watch videos during chatting with another individual. On the other hand, despite the advantages of communication via the internet, people should not be ignored its disadvantages. Some studies showed that those who are over-dependence on the indirect communication method would be the main root of the weakening of practical skills such as verbal ability and literacy skill. This is because they are familiar with conveying their messages through emotional icons to receivers and sometimes responding immediately to their partners without being thoughtful, therefore they are inferior than others and feel isolated, if they participate in the formal meetings that require face-to-face interaction. In conclusion, it seems to me that there are benefits and drawbacks generating from the means of non-traditional communication namely the online interaction.