Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, raising the legal driving age is the most effective solution to keep our roads safe. I completely disagree with this point of view and through this essay I will present my argument and also suggest some more effective alternatives. Increasing the minimum driving age is not an ideal solution. This is due to the fact that it doesn’t guarantee an increase in driving skills. Specifically, raising the driving age does not matter if there isn’t something in the social infrastructure that provides the new driver with experience. For example, even someone who gets behind the wheel at age 25 without any experience will still find it as difficult as an 18-year-old does during driving sessions. In my opinion, the government should focus on these following alternatives to ensure road traffic safety. An effective way is to impose a more severe punishment. As an example, people who commit driving offences should be required to pay heavier fines or have their driver license be taken away. This makes commuters more likely to respect the law, and traffic accidents can be limited. Another great solution is to encourage people to use public transport rather than private vehicles, which will reduce the chances of traffic accidents. This can be done by reducing the price and increasing the frequency of buses to make it more convenient for commuters. In conclusion, the afforementioned solutions would be a more viable option to ensure road safety in lieu of increasing the legal age for driving.