Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinationals are general harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that the actions of huge global companies are beneficial to countries with developing economies, while others believe that these companies have a negative effect. In my opinion, I believe that although multinational companies have some harmful impacts, overall, they benefit the countries in which they do business. A growing body of research suggests that multinationals have a generally positive effect n located at or attached to on in the economies of developing countries. One key benefit is that international investment can help create job opportunities for local people. This can lead to an increase in wages. Taking Turkey as an example, employees of multinational companies earn around 15% more than staff of local companies. However, there are also negative impacts which must be considered. One important issue is that multinational companies can take customers from local companies. This means that some local businesses are likely to close down. For instance, global chains such as McDonalds and Coca-Cola have a much large budget for advertising, allowing them to increase their market share at the expense of local restaurants. In conclusion, while multinationals can benefit developing countries through creating jobs, they can also threaten small businesses. In my opinion, despite having some negative effects, I believe multinational corporations are generally beneficial.