Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued in the statement that learning history is not important, whereas many others think that it is crucial to study history. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and then I will give my own perspective which is history is an essential subject. On the one hand, it is often thought by many people that history as a subject is a waste of time as many people just memorise dates, names and facts when they study history. This information is not significant for the future and everyday life. For instance, according to a survey, most of the adults confessed that they look up on the internet whenever they want to harvest information about past events. Thus, they are not entailed to learn this subject. Furthermore, at the present time everything related to past is easily accessible. Hence, it is not worth studying. On the other hand, according to other people, history is a crucial subject. The main reason for this is that human evolution is possible only because people accumulate experience and knowledge based on the historical events of their ancestors. This helps people make better decisions by reflecting on historical outcomes involving similar decisions and situations. For example, buildings are constructed in places that are free from floods and other natural disasters. People improve their life by learning from their mistakes and trying to avoid repeating them. For instance, we are now experiencing a relatively peaceful world due to people learning from the past that wars are just too costly. Another important aspect is that future discoveries are always based on past knowledge. Finally, in conclusion, I think that learning from the past is essential to our lives because we can prevent past mistakes leading to the evolution of mankind and we can make technological advancements based on past inventions. Therefore, I believe that history lessons should form a critical part of our education