Children nowadays spent a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool which is why children are less well educated today. To what extent do you agree?

Television, which is the telecommunication medium, has played a pivotal role in socialisation. Several studies revealed that educational television has many advantages. Moreover, it cannot replace the book as a learning tool. As a consequence, children are less well educated as they spend a great deal of time watching telly. I am inclined to think in the same direction. I would like to explicate in the following paragraphs. To begin, go with the saying ' A book holds a house of gold', means a book holds ample of knowledge. Reading ability poses a great benefit to mankind, by providing several advantages. Firstly, books help readers to go through the toughest of words, so as, to improve the vocabulary. They get aware of certain new words which may help them further in framing complex sentences. In addition to it, reading books could make it easier to memorise things as readers can relate to the text whenever they wish to. Consequently, it would enhance their knowledge. Also, would keep them enriched and updated. However, television do not possess wealth of knowledge. Despite the fact, it includes a broad range of programming types that entertain, inform viewers by action oriented shows or talk shows, serve no purpose in learning. Henceforth, children are lured by fiction programmes and so are glued to the TV screen which is a great waste of time. As a result of it, children are being less well educated as they spend the most of the quality time seeing irrelevant things. In conclusion, I pen down, saying that, ultimately, reading a book has an edge when it comes to grasping educational thoughts and henceforth, lead to a better version by providing a variety of thoughts. Although, it boosts up the thought process. Thus, foremost benefit of reading is that it broadens the mental horizons of a person which is the only need of the hour in the modern era. Furthermore, makes a person capable of a fruitful living.