Nowadays people can buy a large variety of household goods more than ever before in most countries in the world.what is the cause of it?Is it a good or bad development?Give your opinion and examples.

Nowadays there is an increasing trend in people to buy multiple household appliances and things compared to the earlier times. This may be due to social pressure and inspiration from social media. While doing so is making their lives easier by reducing the manual effort to do most chores, I believe that it can also induce financial burdens on people who might not afford to spend on such items. In this essay, I will further explain why I am confident about my point of view. To begin with, we can say that being extravagant while purchasing domestic items could be out of influence from the media. Masses in the earlier times did not much have access to global channels, and thus, were satisfied with what they had. However, in modern times, exposure to national and foreign channels has permitted household manufacturing companies to exaggerate about their products, encouraging people to consider these products as a dire necessity of life. For example, a food processor was considered unnecessary earlier and most women were comfortable chopping vegetables manually. However, nowadays this is seen in every household and is taken as the need of the hour. Furthermore, this act of over-spending on domestic things may be to maintain a status quo in the social circle. These days, there seems to be a never-ending race of lavish spending in order to boast about one's richness and high quality of life among peers. Also, posting private lives on social media has exacerbated this issue, so, everyone wants to show off their ability to go the extra mile about their purchasing power. For instance, possession of furniture or bedding from specific brands is considered to be a symbol of wealth in my country and most people prefer to buy from such brands only to maintain their so-called respect among their friends and family members. In conclusion, having a variety of household goods is satisfying only if one can easily afford them. However, I believe it should be need-driven, instead of for the sole purpose of displaying and instilling a feeling of inferiority complex among others. Finally, one should always prioritize taking care of the basic needs of life and saving for the rainy days over collecting unnecessary goods at home.