Many people make friends through social sites and chat rooms. Others believe that it is not a good idea to make friends without meeting them face to face. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

Many people do not approve of the idea of making friends online, without meeting them in person. I, however, think that in today's fast paced and busy lives, the internet provides an effective and quick platform to find people with similar interests and befriend them. The people who oppose the view, put forth their argument that that there are different kinds of people on the internet and you cannot judge their intentions by merely chatting with them. Furthermore, there have been instances where a person was kidnapped after the two became friends on Facebook. Such incidents instill a sense of fear in many women and point out the fact that you cannot know a person till the time you meet them. The proponents argue that in today's times, where everyone is working for longer hours to make their ends meet and achieve their goals, people tend to alienate and grow apart. As a consequence of which, they become less social and start living in their own cocoon. This is where social media comes into play; it helps you connect with people who have similar interests and hobbies as you. Furthermore, Social media sites like Bumble, Tinder, offer complete background checks only after which you are allowed to register on these sites. As per survey, 40% of people in metropolitan cities feel extremely comfortable making friends on online platforms, and there are almost negligible reported cases of violence or mishap. To conclude, I believe, social networking sites are busy man's best friend. They are reliable, comfortable and convenient to socially interact with different people and make friends.