Too much money is spent repairing old buildings. It would be better if this money was used to knock down old buildings and construct new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every country has vast historic buildings which depict the prestigious architecture and history of the nation. A huge cost is incurred generally in maintaining these ancient buildings and it is often argued by some people that it is preferable to demolish these structures and build new ones instead. In my opinion, though refurbishing old buildings involve huge money but, at the same time, construction of new buildings is also extremely vital. The essay will discuss both the views in detail. To commence with, it is true that massive amount is spent on restoration of old structures. This is really crucial because the old, derelict buildings and monuments form a giver or sender from the nation's heritage. Moreover, they are part of the nation's history. Since the buildings were constructed and built many years back, they ought to become dilapidated in condition. That's why it becomes more essential to restore and preserve our heritage structures. For instance, enormous capital is being spent every year on the Taj Mahal in India to improve its deteriorating condition. On the other side, new and modern buildings have their own essence. Since they are built using splendid design and modern technology and infrastructure, less maintenance is required for them. In addition, they are pivotal in order to keep up to date with the modern era. Their extraordinary designs attract hordes of tourists and thus, boosts the economic growth of the country. For example, many latest monumental buildings and museums with futuristic design and hi-tech features are developed these days in various countries to promote tourism from across the world, thereby, stimulating the economic development. To conclude, despite ultra modern buildings adds to the economic capital of the nation and requires less maintenance, at the same time demolition of ancient iconic buildings is not the viable solution as well. After all, they add incredible value to the cultural heritage of the country and measures should be taken by the government to preserve them.