Some people believe famous people’s support towards international aid organizations draws attention to problems. Others think celebrities make the problems less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often thought by a few sections of society that support of popular people towards global aid programmes derives attention to issues. However, others believe that their reputation overshadows the actual cause. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and then I will give my own perspective which is that the celebrities help in creating awareness. On the one hand, many associations worldwide solicits support from famous people because of their influence on their followers. They are a convenient source to procure attention. Media follows them everywhere they go and the attention drawn by them helps the organisation to highlight the problems. Charities and causes can be made more popular by their involvement. For example, Princess Diana, she championed the issue of land mines and brought enormous international focus to an otherwise forgotten problem. Hence, able to bridge the gap between the tragedy that has occurred in a remote area and bringing it into people's sitting rooms, making the problem seem more real. On the other hand, some people say that the celebrities make the problem shallow by catching all eyes towards them and not to the real cause. In other words, more media focus may be given to the involvement of the famous person rather than the actual aid organisation and can draw concern away from the problem itself. For instance, according to a survey, it is observed that as soon as the involvement of famous people reduces, people lose interest in the charity as well. Thus, superstars lower the importance of the real issue. Finally, in conclusion, despite the disadvantage of making the real cause less important, I believe that the participation of renowned people can help the cause in a good way by spreading more awareness among people and seeking more attention of the people.