Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In this technological world, most of the population is involved in sedentary work which has ultimately increased the consumption of edibles containing large amounts of sugar. In order to prevent this, the government of several countries had imposed special taxes. Some people opine that it is a good idea while others disagree. This essay intends to analyse both perspectives. I, personally side with the latter. To commence with, people agree with the authorities for levying taxes for following reasons. Firstly, sugary drinks are the major contributor to the leading problems such as obesity and diabetes. So the government aims to promote healthy food choices and reduce over-consumption and halt this epidemic by taxation on these products. This will make people think twice before buying them. Moreover, money made from this can be exploited for the country's development. On the other hand, inflation on other products is already a problem among citizens. It is not good for the individuals. For instance, in a typical Indian household, there is only one source of income which involves fulfilling everyone's need. Further more in addition Furthermore, the prices of sugar have been rising significantly over the decades, but the rate of consumption has stagnated if not increased. So until the people are not made aware, the increase in tax would be a step in the wrong direction. In a nutshell, I believe that people must be enlightened about the problems that sugary food and beverages bring so that they become more cautious and adopt a healthy routine. The authorities can tax these products at decent rates, but keeping in mind the other variables.