Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

A particular issue about space exploration has been drawing attention both at home and abroad. However, the activity costs an exorbitant amount of money through taxes. Although not everyone holds a positive view towards this practice, the benefits will largely counteract the disadvantages if any. It is true that space exploration involves drawbacks. Firstly, it costs too much money, which gives a stressful burden to our society. The more efforts the governments put, the more taxes society should pay. For instance, during the period of the Cold War, the Soviet government had devoted efforts to space exploration, in order to supersede the US. However, the people of the Soviet Union had struggled due to the high taxes. In addition, research has to be conducted through space exploration, which is also contributing into extra cost, therefore, causing deep pressure to our social welfare. In short, space exploration, indeed, possesses disadvantages on spending money and charges high taxes. On the other hand, there are still advantages associated with exploring macrocosm. Humans have been continuously observing the cosmos, helping mankind to gather knowledge that they do not notice. Therefore, accelerating the evolution of our civilization. For example, the US, being the trailblazer of space expedition, found lots of information throughout space. Applying knowledge to the military, it turned out that the US had become the most powerful country in the world. Secondly, space exploration also helps us to live better, such as observing the cycle of sun, this may help us generate more energy in solar power. Therefore, it benefits our daily life in an energy-saving way. To conclude, spending money on space exploration may seem to be a heavy burden to our society. However, the benefits inherent in this practice actually outweigh the potential drawbacks, ranging from acquiring useful knowledge and enhancing our daily life in a better way.