People think that countries should produce foods their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Producing food should be completely encouraged by the government and the number of imports should be reduced. I absolutely agree with this statement due to several aspects. From an economic and healthy perspective, importing food is quite an expensive activity. The reason is it requires transport such as plane, boat or train to send food products which makes food ’s price higher.If the government provides local products fully, the cause of financial difficulties will decrease. Moreover importing foods can have some health issues. For example, bananas are plucked from tree branches when they have not grown properly enough. In this period their color will be green. However, during transportation, they will change their colour to yellow and will be available for eating. The problem is, they will be grown not naturally, without natural resources which can have negative impacts on the product. From a local perspective, producing food rather than investing in imports has various benefits. Firstly, it may increase the number of jobs. When the demand for domestic food increases, there will be more jobs available in food production and farming, leading to a reduction in the unemployment rate. In addition, competition among local and foreign producers will be stopped, for example, if products from abroad disappear from local stores, citizens will purchase only domestic goods which will increase the financial status of native companies, which can lead to creating more opportunities for investing in new ideas. To sum up, local production will always have several benefits in many ways such as economic and health, which make it an advantageous process.