Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age, for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Raising the minimum driving age is thought to be the best method to enhance road safety. While I agree that this approach is beneficial in the short term, long-term solutions also need to be implemented. On the one hand, there is an absolute necessity of raising the legal age of taking the driving test since numerous traffic accidents are the result of the young drivers’ reckless driving. Generally, most youngsters are unable to fully understand the severe consequences of their actions or to take any responsibility for what they caused. Therefore, by increasing the driving age, even the youngest drivers are guaranteed to be mature enough to drive seriously and have an awareness of protecting not only their own lives but also other people’s lives. However, I believe that this approach is only advantageous to a certain extent because there are still many young people driving without owning any driving licenses. One practical solution is to impose harsher punishment on reckless drivers. For example, drivers who cause a severe accident must serve a longer sentence or a hefty fine should be given to people crossing the red light. As a result, people are more likely to obey the rules when their actions could leave a lasting influence on their future. Also, driving test organizers need to increase the difficulty level of the test to ensure that people must undergo thorough training to be physically and mentally eligible for operating a vehicle. In conclusion, increasing the legal age for driving cars is indeed having some benefits. However, there is a need to introduce other stringent measures to improve road safety.