In todays world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

Nowadays, many individuals invest more of their funds in things that improve their looks because they do not want to appear old. This is happening mostly due to peer influence. I also think this is a positive trend because it makes people feel good about themselves and can improve their productivity. In addition, this makes people relate better with others. A major point to consider on why people tend to spend more money on their appearance is the effect of peer influence on individuals. This means that when people see other individuals of their age group looking younger, they are motivated to also undergo procedures done by these ones. For example, most adolescents would use particular facial products, it is introduced to them by friends who appear to look more beautiful from the use of these products. I think spending more money to look young is a positive development because it improves people's perception of themselves. In other words, when people appear younger than their age, it helps their self-esteem and this can also improve their quality of life. For instance, undergoing cosmetic facial surgery could make someone happier as they appear to look more beautiful and smile more. Furthermore, investing money in things that make people look younger can also improve their productivity. For instance, undergoing a knee-replacement surgery improves the gait of an individual helping them to walk faster and this will improve their mobility at work. In conclusion, more people are spending money on things that make them appear younger than their age because of peer influence. I believe this is a positive development because it improves the self-esteem and quality of life of people.