Some people think that in order to protect the environment, we should reduce air travel. Do you agree or disagree?

Indeed, it is fundamental to keep the environment safe for the future generations. So, in order to safeguard the nature, some people argue that one should curtail travelling by air because it is degrading the surroundings. However, I believe that there are several other factors like pollution from land transport and factories which is detrimental for health rather than just minimizing air travel. To begin with, the primary reason of air pollution is the emission of fuel for vehicles. This is hazardous to health and causes a plethora of respiratory diseases, such as, lung cancer. For instance, in Delhi, the air quality is very poor because of innumerable vehicles and inevitable traffic, and 2019 has been named as the dangerous year in the last 2 decades. What is the role of the Government? Although, the Government has come up with the electronic vehicles, but yet these are not so popular and are expensive. Therefore, the Government has to make a protocol for everyone to opt for the electronic vehicles in order to overcome the problem. Secondly, another major source of air pollution is the release of toxic gases from the industries into the air. These are poisonous gasses and are affecting especially the children. Even a child in the womb is suffering and later being detected with a psychological disorder or a respiratory problem, for example, asthma. In Kanpur, for instance, the survey was conducted in 1998, where 52% of the children were asthmatic because they were breathing the toxic gases which were released from the industries. To conclude, although, the air quality is getting worse, but that doesn’t mean that the air travel should be reduced, since the air travel has given convenience to the people to travel across the world any time without any boundaries. Nevertheless, an individual should be responsible to protect its environment with the help of the Government.