Some people believe that free housing should be provided by the government for under-privileged and people who can’t afford to buy a house. To what extent do you agree and disagree with the statement?

Housing is one of the basic requirement for living. While some people are able to afford their own home others are not. It is often debated that government should provide houses to the needy people free of cost. In my opinion, this approach has its own benefits and drawbacks, let us discuss both the views in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, providing houses free of cost to underprivileged people has lots of advantages.First of all, giving them their own homes will lend a helping hand to save a good amount of money on rents which they can use to improve their lifestyle. Also, they can spend this money on the education or their medical needs. Moreover, this step will also help needy people to enhance their status in society which will boost their confidence in life. Furthermore, there are much weaker sections of society who are compelled to live on the streets in dilapidated conditions. It is important for authorities to provide suitable houses to keep them safe from natural calamities. For Example, Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna in India initiative to provide affordable housing for poor people. It is true that every coin has two sides, thus free housing have some drawbacks too. This situation will put a lot of pressure on government funds which can deprive lot of people from basic medical and education needs. Moreover, this tendency will dramatically increase the expectations from authorities for other facilities which can be a pain in the neck for them. Also, this tendency can lead to increase in corruption as people can do forgery to get free accommodations. In a nutshell, it is apt to conclude that housing is a basic necessity for humans. Although providing free accommodation to everyone will be difficult to achieve, the government can introduce some policies to subsidise property prices for needy people which can prove to be win-win situation for both.